Juninho Cabral concorre a melhor jogador da BOV FIRST DIVISION

The nominees have been announced ahead of the 2017 MFA Awards, to be held at the Mediterranean Conference Centre (MCC) on Sunday, May 14, 2017.


Journalists, club coaches and captains, and coaches from the Malta FA Technical Centre took part in the voting process which came to a close last Friday.

The five contenders for the MFA Footballer of the Year Award, the most coveted individual honour in Maltese football, are Hibernians FC duo Andrei Agius and Bjorn Kristensen, Birkirkara FC players Gareth Sciberras and Joseph Zerafa, and Balzan FC midfielder Paul Fenech.


Of the five finalists in this year’s MFA Footballer of the Year category, only Paul Fenech has won the award in the past, precisely in season 2012/13 when he was on the books of Birkirkara FC.


All five nominees have represented Malta at senior level while the three finalists for the Young Player of the Year prize – Jean Borg (Valletta FC), Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians FC) and Jake Grech (Ħamrun Spartans FC) – are members of the Malta Under-21 squad.


The three shortlisted candidates in seven other categories – Coach of the Year, Foreign Player of the Year, BOV First Division Best Player, BOV Second Division Best Player, BOV Third Division Best Player, BOV Women’s League Best Player and Best Youth League player – have also been announced.


The public will decide the winner of the 2016/17 best goal award.


The MFA Awards Organising Committee will issue a shortlist of 10 goals in the coming days and each entry will be assigned an SMS number for voting purposes.


The list will be eventually whittled down to five with the public voting remaining open until the night of May 14 when the winner will be announced during the eagerly-anticipated MFA Awards at the MCC.



• Erjon Beu (Lija Athletic)
• Juninho Conceicao Cabral (Senglea Athletic)
• Yuri De Jesus Messias (Naxxar Lions)

comments ( 0 )

*Leave a reply*